I love fall. It is by far my favorite season. The colors, the weather, the smells; I love everything about it. My favorite thing to make in the fall and winter is soup. I usually make a pot of it every Sunday so that I can take it for lunch all week long. Today, I made chipotle sweet potato soup.

Chipotle Sweet Potato Soup
adapted from Marin Mama Cooks

ingredients
2 tablespoons oil
1 red onion, diced
3 cloves of garlic, minced
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon coarse salt
6-7 sprigs of cilantro, tied together with string
2 chipotle chiles in adobo, diced + a spoonful or two of the adobo sauce
3 decent sized sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
8 cups of vegetable broth

garnishes:
tortilla chips
lime wedges
avocado

instructions

Put the oil, onion, garlic, cumin, salt, and cilantro in a large pot and turn the heat to medium.

20131110-171810.jpg
Stir occasionally until the onion softens, but not browns. Add the sweet potatoes and chiles and stir to combine.

20131110-172056.jpg
Add your vegetable broth and turn the heats up to high, stirring occasionally. Once it comes to a boil, lower the heat to medium and let it simmer until the potatoes are soft (test this by piercing them with a fork). When the potatoes are soft, remove them from the heat, remove the cilantro and discard it, and blend your soup until it is smooth. Taste it and add salt to you liking. I used my immersion blender (I LOVE that thing) but a regular blender will do just fine as well. If you use a regular blender, make sure you only ever fill it halfway. That soup will be HOT and the steam can force the top of your blender off if you’re not careful. Keep this warm until you are ready to serve.

I served this with tortilla strips (I had some corn tortillas that I needed to use up so I fried them up myself but store bought tortilla chips would be a much easier alternative), diced avocado, and lime wedges. I meant to put some chopped cilantro on there too but I forgot. It would be a delicious addition.

20131110-172832.jpg

This turned out really well. I’ll absolutely make it again. It had just the right combination of silky-sweetness from the potatoes and smokey heat from the chiles. Try it out and let me know what you think!

