You know that saying “I’m sick and tired of being sick and tired”? Well I am. Those of you who know me in real life know that I am very liberal. This blog post is not meant to start any great debates. The chances of me being swayed to a more conservative point of view are slim to none. And I’m not so deluded to think that by writing this stuff down, it will suddenly occur to some conservatives out there that they should be more liberal. I have some dear friends and family who happen to be very conservative. I don’t hold anything against people who are conservative unless they are vitriolic and/or mean. It’s not necessary. I just truly cannot wrap my mind around some conservative ideals. And that’s okay because I’m sure they’d say the same thing about some of the things I believe in.

Here’s the thing though. There are just too many things to be outraged about lately. And I am definitely outraged by some things. I am completely outraged by the unwillingness of some to welcome the gay and lesbian and trans community into having the same rights as straight people. I am unbelievably outraged by the amount of women’s rights and freedom to control what happens to their own bodies being whittled away at day by day and state by state. I am outraged by the power that companies like Monsanto wield to sway EPA and FDA guidelines and to silence the voices of their critics. The gun control debate, the healthcare debate, the fact that people try and use religion as a basis for laws despite there being a separation of church and state; these are all things I find very troubling. I know I should be outraged by the whole Edward Snowden/NSA thing but I’m not. It’s too much. I don’t have room for it. I should probably care more about the budget and government spending but I don’t. My outrage center is already overloaded. I could probably go on and on. But I won’t because the list of things I could be outraged about is truly never ending. And frankly, I just don’t have room in my life to spend being pissed off all of the time.

I’m not saying that any of these issues are not important. They are all extremely important. I would just rather fill my life with positive things. So I’m going to focus on the stuff that really matters to me. My friends, my family, my pets, my life. The revolutionary in me will still show her little head from time to time, I’m sure. And I will still stay informed and vote and participate in society. I will still share my opinions via social media outlets and, yes, I will still get outraged by certain issues that tend to mean more to me than others. But I have too much good stuff and good people in my life to spend all of my time being outraged. Can’t people just be nice to one another? Seriously. Just be nice.

*steps down from soapbox*

