I know those of you who workout outdoors and live in the Midwest are feeling my pain right now. It has been wicked hot and humid lately and even getting up before 6:00 AM to run hasn’t made much of a difference. I suppose I wouldn’t have gone out at all after work but even before the sun comes up it has been sticky hot out there. Last Thursday I went out for six miles. The first three were just fine but I crashed and burned on the second half. I just couldn’t keep it up. I read an article about the effects of humidity on runners and it said that humidity is even worse than just heat because when your body sweats, it can’t evaporate because the air already has enough moisture in it. And that, in turn, causes your body to overheat. So that’s where I’ve been for the last couple of weeks.

Anyway, imagine my delighted surprise when I looked at the weather and saw that it’s supposed to drop to 57 over night tomorrow and not be swelteringly hot for the rest if the week! I can’t wait for fall!

