We went to a movie tonight with some friends (This Is the End, I highly recommend it) and they played a Backstreet Boys song at the end of it. It was good and all but it was not my favorite Backstreet Boys song.

My favorite Backstreet Boys song is I Want It That Way. It took me a long time to actually admit that openly because it is a boy band and I was not 13 when it was released. I was a senior in high school and I was a self-proclaimed music snob. I actively engaged (that should not be past-tense as I still engage in it from time to time) in music snobbery and I was probably a jerk to people about it on multiple occasions. Oh well. Anyway, that song came out when I was a senior and my brother and I used watch MTV after school. That video was on TRL for weeks and weeks and it was awesome. One day, I looked at my brother (also a bit of a music snob) and said, “Don’t tell anyone, but I secretly love this song.” He looked at me sheepishly and said, “Me too.”

Fast forward a few years and I’m working at Applebee’s waiting tables. There was some canned music pumped into the restaurant via satellite and they played the same songs over and over. I Want It That Way was one of them. And it was like magic. I used to stand near the bar when that song came on and look out at the restaurant at all the servers running around. Nearly everyone would get a little smile on their face and maybe start mouthing the words along with it.

Now as a 33 year old, it ranks among my favorite karaoke songs. I’m not embarrassed to admit how much I love it anymore. Because even though I still practice music snobbery, I’ve come to realize that some of the music I love is cheesy and not very good. Meh. I love it anyway. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I have to go watch that video a few more times before I go to bed.

