I promise that I won’t turn this blog into a wedding planning blog. However, since I tend to write a lot about what’s going on in my life, I will be writing about that stuff sometimes. I’m planning on making all of my own decorations, invitations, party favors, and other stuff. There will probably be a lot of tutorials. Good thing I’m crafty and enjoy doing that stuff.

So far, I’ve really only picked out a color palette. I’ve sort of decided on a venue but it is not officially booked yet. I’m trying to do this wedding on a relatively small budget. It’s not that I’m cheap. I just think that the insane amount of money that folks spend on weddings these days is grotesque. Neither JW or I come from terribly wealthy backgrounds and although my parents have offered to help, I still want to keep costs down as much as possible. I think it would be pretty foolish of us to start the next chapter of our lives with a whole lot of new debt. Anyway, I think it’s completely possible to have a beautiful, classy wedding without spending the same amount as a small house would cost.

So, the colors. I went to Home Depot today and got some paint samples of the colors I have in mind:

20130526-204334.jpg

Then I cut them into strips and glued them to note cards so that my mother and I can easily carry them around and have something to go off of when shopping for stuff.

20130526-204456.jpg

I’m pretty much in love with these colors and I think they’re perfect for a summer wedding (we’re thinking July 2014). Let the planning begin!

