The other day, I was driving home from Detroit and jamming about alone in the car. Well, Bella was there too but she usually isn’t much for sing-alongs. I was just surfing through stations and stopping when I came to good songs. So then I started fantasizing about how awesome it would be to be able to play guitar (or ukulele, I’ve always wanted to learn that). I could be my very own karaoke machine! Because duh, the songs I like to sing karaoke to are the only ones I’d want to play. JW said he’d teach me chords. I don’t want to be some guitar genius or anything. I just want to know how to play chords and string them together. And although it’s been a super long time since I’ve played, I do have some background in music. I’m sure it will be way harder than my brain is telling me it will be but that didn’t stop me from making a list of awesome songs to learn:

Wagon Wheel by Old Crow Medicine Show
Heat of the Moment by Asia (duh)
Wildflowers by Tom Petty
I Want It That Way by The Backstreet Boys
Suzanne by Weezer
Cold Day In The Sun by Foo Fighters
F*** Her Hard by Tenacious D
The Sweetness by Jimmy Eat World
Rubber Ducky by Ernie
I’d Like To Visit The Moon by Ernie
Pretty much every Muppet Song ever

This list could honestly go on for a very long time. We could probably throw Kenny Loggins’ entire catalogue on there. And Eddie Money’s while we’re at it. So, you know, I’m basically looking to become the annoying guitar guy who plays covers at parties. It’s cool though. Most of my friends like sing-alongs too. What songs would be on your learn-to-play list if you were making one? Tell me!

