I made the best cupcakes this weekend. They had chocolate, beer, bacon, cream filling, and brown sugar frosting. Holy delicious. Here’s what I did:

For the cake:
Adapted from Bakers Royale

Ingredients

20130428-204640.jpg
You’ll also need 4 slices of bacon cooked and crumbled.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
Mix the flour, cocoa (I just used Hershey’s), sugar, baking soda, and salt together. Add the butter, eggs, and vanilla and mix on medium speed for a minute or so. Add half of the beer (I’ve used lots of different kinds of beer in this recipe, including Raspberry Lambic and this cake has never failed me. I used Guinness this time.) and beat for about 30 seconds. Add the rest of the beer, beat for another half a minute or so, and then fold in your chopped bacon. Divide evenly among 12 lined cupcake wells (it will end up with about a quarter cup in each well). Bake until a toothpick inserted in the center of a few of them comes out clean (18-22 minutes). Cool completely on a rack.

For the cream filling:
For the life of me, I can’t find the original recipe for this online. Here’s the recipe though:

20130428-205611.jpg
Since I wanted there to be a bacon element in every part of these cupcakes, I substituted the half cup of butter for three tablespoons of cooled bacon grease and five tablespoons of butter. But I followed the rest of the directions above.

For the frosting:
This is a recipe that comes from my grandmother. We call her Nanny. She’s always called it “Saunder’s Frosting” but I’ve been calling it brown sugar frosting since no one knows what I’m talking about when I say Saunder’s. Here’s the recipe:

20130428-210049.jpg
I used butter, not margarine (gross). You’ll also want 6-8 more slices of bacon, cooked for the garnish.

Now, this frosting is tricky. I had to dump my first batch of it. I got the milk too hot and I poured it in too fast and it was like soup. So heat it until it is steamy and then pour it in s-l-o-w-l-y. It will be annoying how slow. This is necessary.

Assembly:
You could fill a piping bag and stab the tip into the top of the cupcakes to fill them but I don’t think that provides enough filling. So here’s what I did: I cut a large cone out of every cupcake. Then I filled each one with the bacon cream filling using a spoon. Then, (and this part is optional but I like how it looks) I cut the bottom of each cone off so that I have a disc of cake and I put that back on top of the cream filling like a lid.

20130428-211104.jpg
Not a great picture but you can see what I mean by putting a lid on it.

I usually pipe frosting onto my cupcakes but the brown sugar frosting isn’t quite stiff enough to hold its shape. Well, maybe it is but I was going for a lightly more rustic look for these ones. It has a very whippy (Is that a word? It is now.) consistency. So I just dolloped it on there with a spoon, making sure to cover up the part where I cut the top open. Then I took two small pieces of bacon and stuck them into the frosting. You could chop and sprinkle it too but I like the way it turned out the way I did them:

20130428-211612.jpg

I’ve decided to call these cupcakes “Sad Bastard Curing Cupcakes” because if someone is feeling like a sad bastard and they eat one, they won’t be able to feel sad-bastardy for long. Seriously. They are that good.

