You guys. My mind is totally blown. Seriously. I told the universe something and it listened to me. So enough of that miserable wretch bullshit from yesterday. I’m ready for more awesomeness.

Have you heard of the book, The Secret? A lot of people like to make fun of it. There are admittedly some far-fetched claims within its covers. I did read it though and I think I’m going to read it again. The basic premise of it is this: project good thoughts out into the universe and good things will happen in your life. Project negative thoughts, and your life will have more negativity. This idea is also referred to as manifestation.

I’ve always generally agreed with this theory. People who make it a point to be positive are, for the most part, more happy (broadly speaking) than people who have spent most of their time looking for things to be negative about. And as I’ve spoke about before, I decided early on this year that 2013 was going to be the year of Courtney and JW. I have made lists of goals and stuck to them for the most part (I’m a little behind schedule on some but I’m working on it). Awesome things have happened for both of us on the job front so far and I feel like they are going to get even better. I am making progress on my weight loss and I’m running faster than I have in years. I’m getting better at being a housekeeper and taking pride in my home. I’m certainly not perfect but I’m definitely getting better. That being said, I’m not entirely inclined to give 100% of the credit for these strides I’ve made to the universe. I’ve worked my ass off (literally, ha!)! But I don’t think I would have come this far without some good old fashioned positive thoughts.

How do I get these positive thoughts into the stratosphere, you ask? Well, I suppose you could call it a sort of praying. I am not religious and I don’t believe in a single, all-powerful god. I think it is a wonderful aspect of life for some people. It’s just not for me. But, every morning when I wake up and every evening before I go to sleep, I lay there for a while and first think of everything I am thankful for. My family and friends, JW, Bella, my health, the health of my loved ones, my job, the roof over my head, food, fun, the list is endless. After that, I think of the things that I want for other people. Happiness and love for a friend going through a rough time, health for everyone, anything that I’ve noticed anyone I love struggling with – I think of them finding answers or peace. After that, I think of all of the things I want for me. Most of it has to do with the goals I laid out for myself at the beginning of the year. I also throw in anything I might be struggling with at any given time. It doesn’t take long; maybe five minutes (give or take). And so far, things have been going pretty good for JW and I. And as hippie-dippy as it may sound, I feel more at peace within myself. Not to mention happier.

Here’s the thing though: a lot of the things and goals I’ve laid out above at least have elements that I can control. I can decide to watch what I eat, go out and run, clean the house, be positive, etc. But I left out one thing that I have been projecting into the universe. It was sort of a trivial thing. You see, last winter, the NFL announced what opponents each team would face and whether it would be a home game or an away game. As I’ve also mentioned before, I am from Michigan but live in Cincinnati. The Lions and Bengals are not in the same division so they rarely play each other. It was announced that they were playing in Detroit this year. JW’s cousin is a die-hard Bengals fan and I love my Lions. We quickly decided we should go up for the game. I’ve also mentioned that I want to run a full marathon this year. I’ve decided on the Detroit marathon on October 20. I got to thinking; it sure would be cool if they ended up being the same day. And I sort of started adding that hope/want to my daily projections into the universe.

Today, at 8:00 PM, the NFL announced all of the team schedules. You guys. The Lions/Bengals game is on October 20! Holy shit! I literally ran around the yelling when I read that. I’m so so so so so SO pumped!!

So, go ahead and make fun of The Secret or my hippie-dippy projecting of positive thoughts into the universe. Just don’t do it around me. Or do. I don’t really care either way at this point. It’s working for me and making my life more awesome. Who can ask for more than that?

