The day after Christmas, JW and I went to go see Django Unchained. Shortly thereafter, he deemed it “the best movie ever made.” He’s serious. We got ahold of a digital copy of it and I’d say he’s probably watched at least five or six times since then. I really liked the movie. A lot. I don’t know if it would say I thought it was the best movie EVER, but hey, that is all a matter of opinion. I like most of Quentin Tarantino’s films. I truly believe him to be a genius. And the man sure can put together a soundtrack. The Pulp Fiction soundtrack was a staple among my group of friends when I was younger. I still like to throw it on. It’s fabulous. So it was only a matter of time, I knew, before JW got a copy of the Django Unchained soundtrack. I like most of it. It’s no Pulp Fiction but it’s good. There is one major problem: the song Django. It’s also the theme of a spaghetti western of the same name from the 60s. The song itself isn’t so bad. JW enjoys playing it. A lot. And the man who sings it sounds like he’s yelling it to me. And it gets stuck in my head and torments me while I sleep.

Songs get stuck in everyone’s head. Some are good and some are bad. I know a lot of people like the song Django. But it worms it’s way through my brain and won’t leave. I was hesitant to even write this post because typing the word “Django” this many times has put the stinking song right back in there. Holy crap, it drives me crazy. I have lists of good songs that I actually try to get stuck in my head and there are also songs that seem to get trapped in my brain just to spite me. So here is a list of them both. First, the good:

1. Wildflowers by Tom Petty – this song is tied for my favorite song of all time. I have said that it is my theme song since I got that album in 1994. It soothes me and I love it.
2. Heat of the Moment by Asia – the other tie. I think it’s one of the best songs ever written. No kidding.
3. I Will by the Beatles – I’ve loved this song since high school too. It’s so simple and sweet. It’s a good lullaby.
4. Photograph by Def Leopard – because, duh. It’s a great song.
5. Generator by Bad Religion – this is the song I think of while running if I want to go. It is my jam.
6. Weezer – anything off of the Blue Album or Pinkerton. Most of the Green Album too. What can I say? I’m a sucker for nostalgia.
7. Aurora by Foo Fighters – I could name any number of Foo Fighters songs because they are among my favorite bands. But this one is a good going-to-sleep song. Dave Grohl’s voice is super smooth and it’s a catchy tune.
8. Total Eclipse of the Heart by Bonnie Tyler – again, duh.

I could go on probably forever but then this would end up being a list of the songs I like to karaoke to (hint: every song ever written with the exception of the ones lists below). And now for the bad songs:

1. Django by Luis Bacalov – like I said before, it’s not the worst song ever written but damn if it doesn’t get in my head and never leave. It’s in there right now. And if I go to sleep with it in there, it will wake me up and cause a period of insomnia. It sounds like the guy is yelling!
2. Good Morning Starshine – I don’t even know who sings this song and I don’t care. Most of the song isn’t so bad until he gets to the middle part where normal songwriters would use filler words like “la la” or “oh oh” or something along those lines. Not this one. This one says “gliddy gloop gloopy, nibby nobby nooby, la la la lo lo” and goes from there. And those horrible nonsense words are what repeat in my brain if that song gets stuck in there. So. Terrible.
3. Creed’s entire catalog – Creed is one of the worst bands ever and Scott Stapp’s voice is intolerable. We may as well just lump Nickelback here too.

I’m sure there are others but I’m honestly afraid to think of them because I don’t want them in my head. The bad ones have better staying power than the good ones, you know. So what are the songs that you dread getting stuck? And what other songs do you think of to get them out?

