The winner of the poll from the other day’s post for which dress I should make was…the red one! I almost ignored the poll and decided to do the gray one because it looked way easier to sew. I’m sure it is easier. But the pattern for the red one was about $4.00 while the pattern for the gray one was closer to $18.00. WTF! I don’t really get why some patterns are so expensive. Most people only use them once. I’ll splurge on it one of these days but today was not that day.

Anyway, JW and I went to the store to pick up the supplies and luckily, most of the stuff was on sale. I got the pattern, the fabric, the interfacing, two spools of thread, and the zipper all for around $32.00. Not bad! I didn’t buy any hooks/eyelets because I already had some and I think I’m going to go back for some cheap fabric for the lining. I misread the pattern and don’t have enough fabric for that. That’s okay though, I can buy something cheap because it goes on the inside and no one will see it anyway.

I decided on fabric slightly different than what the picture showed. I love the red but I wanted something a little different. I ended up choosing this:

20130316-204826.jpg
I love.

I came home with high hopes of getting the pattern all pinned on and cut out. Here’s the thing though: I haven’t sewed anything from a pattern in YEARS. I need to brush up on my sewing vocabulary. And I got a little overwhelmed. And we all know what happens when Courtney gets overwhelmed. Yep, you guessed it; my old friend procrastination.

So I promptly fell asleep on the couch. Whoops. I’m getting back I work on it now. I’m armed with my iPhone and trusty google app for any terms I don’t understand (I refer to my iPhone as my “proving JW wrong machine.” But it has other uses as well.). I don’t know of I’m going to be able to finish the dress entirely this weekend (almost definitely not) but I’m going to try to get as much done as possible. Wish me luck!

