Several people have said, “You’re so crafty!” to me lately. Although I’ve never really considered myself to be terribly crafty, I do enjoy creating things. I know I said I was going to work on that dress last weekend but I just ran out if time. This weekend maybe. I have taken on a lot of projects in the last year or so and they span over quite a few types of crafts.

Crochet
I really like to crochet. I don’t really write my own patterns but I think it’s fun to see how things form and shape. I’ve crocheted a variety of items; hats, scarves, fingerless gloves, blankets. Probably the most popular item I’ve made are these:

20130305-214647.jpg

Hilarious, right? You can buy the pattern over here at Burly BeardCo. I will say that the beard is quite challenging. The hat is a pretty standard beanie. But so funny.

Painting
I don’t have very much experience with painting but one of the things that makes me proud about all of the artwork in our house is that for the most part, it’s all original art by friends and family. That’s really cool. Like I said, I don’t have much experience. In fact, I’ve really only done one painting:

20130305-215443.jpg

Or rather, four paintings in a set. I’m under no delusions that it’s professional but I think they turned out pretty cool looking. And I plan on doing some more painting in the future.

Wall Art

For Christmas this year, I made some wall art with pictures of my brother and JW’s favorite celebrities. I had some black and white stencil and line drawings of Ron Swanson and Frank Zappa and I transferred the images to different fabrics. Then I cut the fabric into strips and reconstructed the picture:

20130305-220058.jpg

20130305-220220.jpg

My brother and JW loved them. I think these are funny and kitschy. I’m definitely making more of them.

Sewing
I don’t really have any pictures of stuff that I’ve sewn. I haven’t really done it in a while. The last thing I sewed was curtains for my house back in Michigan. That was four years ago. They still hang there. But that’s where the goals tag here comes in. I really want to sew more. I have that thrift store dress that I’m going to refashion and I am planning on sewing some aprons and dresses this year. My mom is also going to help me sew a cushion as a part of the rad board we’re making for the new bed. I found a website that shows you what patterns to choose for some of the modcloth dresses here. I will totally be utilizing this.

Today JW and I went to Joann Fabrics and got me a cutting mat, a rotary cutter, and some new fabric scissors. Nerd alert: I’m totally pumped. Of course, when I get around to tackling any projects I assign myself, I’ll post about them here. But I’m curious. Are there any crafts or projects you’d like to see someone attempt? I’m game as long as they projects don’t cost an arm and a leg and are within reason. Comment and let me know. I’m up for the challenge!

