So I was driving around today, on my way to check out some thrift stores for dresses that I can upcycle and animal figurines that I can spray paint, and Def Leppard came on the radio. Oh, man, do I love me some Def Leppard. And pretty much all 80s/early 90s hair bands. I. Love. Them. And I was thinking about this love and I decided that this music alone could probably be the soundtrack of my entire life (and probably yours, too).

Now, this isn’t to say that I don’t completely love other types of music as well. And it’s not like I even listen to cock rock all of the time. But I can’t resist a power ballad. Can’t do it. I once lingered in the grocery store even though I had everything I needed because “Can You Take Me High Enough” by Damn Yankees came on and I wanted to listen to the whole thing. I couldn’t even hear it that well.

But seriously. Who hasn’t heard “I Remember You” by Skid Row and then sat there and thought about an ex that still pops into your head once in a while? And who can listen to pretty much any Guns N Roses song without wanting to gyrate your hips around like Axl? Not me. “Total Eclipse of the Heart”? Please. I can’t not sing along. And if you try to tell me that you don’t crank the radio up and sing at the top of your lungs when Eddie Money comes on and you’re in the car alone then I don’t believe you. I don’t want to live in a world where people don’t do that anyway.

I went to see Def Leppard a few years ago with my BFF. It was the most fun I’ve probably ever had at a concert (This is not to say it was the best concert I’ve ever seen. Not by a long shot. That crown goes to the (two) Pixies shows I went to. Oh, Black Francis and Kim Deal, how I love thee.). But seriously, we had a blast. Joe Elliot hits those high notes like a BOSS even though he’s getting up there. And the drummer only has one arm. He kills it. My BFF paid me $10 to ask the super-fan nerd a couple of rows ahead of us to slow dance to the acoustic version of “Two Steps Behind”. Here’s a clue about me: I would have done it on a dare alone. Duh. Plus, the best part of shows like this is that they play all the stuff you know. They hardly play any new material. They know what people are there for.

My younger brother and I have a long-standing argument over what is the best song ever written. He says it’s “The Final Countdown” by Europe. I say it’s “Heat of the Moment” by Asia. I’m telling you this in all seriousness. I believe it is The. Best. Song. Ever. It’s the battle of the continent cock rock bands!

So which one wins the battle? And what’s your musical guilty pleasure?

