Remember the other day when I said that I was getting better at not leaving dishes until I had to stand there an hate-clean them for an hour? Yeah. Not so much for the last few days.

Hate-cleaning: Definition: Cleaning a mess that you don’t want to clean and getting so pissed off while doing it that you hate the other person who contributed to said mess.

I don’t really hate JW. There just happened to be a substantial amount of dishes to be done before I could start what I really wanted to do today: make ravioli!

So I decided on butternut squash, roasted garlic, and goat cheese ravioli in a browned butter and sage sauce. Why? Because I love all of those things. Seriously, I think I might be able to live off of goat cheese alone. Seriously. It’s a problem.

I started off with 2 small butternut squashes and a head of garlic. Cut them in half, scoop all the seeds and goop out of the squashes, and wedge the garlic in the holes that are left. My squashes had little holes so I had to quarter my garlic.
20130216-214832.jpg

Then smear some oil on the squash and garlic, sprinkle some salt and pepper and turn them over so they are face-down. Put them in a 375* oven and let them roast for 45 minutes to an hour. They’re done when you can push any utensil through the skin without much effort. Set them aside and let them cool enough for you to handle them.

When cool, scrape the meat out of the squash and squeeze the roasted garlic out of their skins into a bowl. Then add 4 ounces of goat cheese, a half cup of Parmesan cheese, and a generous amount of salt and pepper. You could call it good at that point. I also decided to add a heaping spoonful of brown sugar, a dash each of nutmeg, cinnamon, cardamom, and cayenne pepper. Seriously though, these are optional. I might not even do it next time I make this. There will be a next time.

20130216-215623.jpg

You can either mash this all together with a potato masher or run it through a food processor or blender. I used my immersion blender because I wanted it to be smoother.

20130216-215801.jpg

Then I chopped a few leaves of fresh sage and tossed them in and mixed it up. Set it aside. We’re going to make pasta next!

For the pasta, put 4 eggs into a food processor. You can do this by hand but the food processor makes it WAY easier. Then throw in a little drizzle of oil, some salt and pepper and enough flour to make it a stiff dough (I started with four heaping spoonfuls of flour like one of the recipes I looked at said – way too thin. I ended up putting in 11 heaping spoonfuls in total.)

I kneaded the dough a few times and cut it into six pieces. You could cut it into less pieces but I have very limited counter space. Then get out your rolling pin and and roll them out as thin as you can. If you have a pasta maker, use it. I want one. Also, if you have a ravioli mold, use that too. I want one of those too.

20130216-220715.jpg

So I decide to make half-circle ravioli. You can make whatever shape you want. I used the ring from a pint jar to make circle indents in the dough and I used my handy-dandy dough cutting wheel to make the edges fancy. A round cookie cutter would be a lot easier.

20130216-221022.jpg

Then you want to brush all the way around the edge is each circle with some egg that you’ve beaten. Then put a small amount of filling in the middle of each circle.

20130216-221236.jpg

Fold over the dough and press the edges together to seal it. Set them off to the side in a single layer on some parchment or wax paper. Uh, just so you know, I am apparently unable to correctly gauge the amount of filling that should fit in there. Squash filling squirted out of the seam of every last one of these when I sealed them. It’s cool, they stuck together when I boiled them. Also, this made 48 ravioli and I used only half of the filling that I made. I’m going to make more dough in the next couple of days and freeze the ravioli.

20130216-221816.jpg

Now, the sauce is the easiest part of all of this. First put a big pot of water on and heat it so you can cook the ravioli in it. While you’re waiting for it to boil, put a stick of butter in a large, deep skillet and turn the heat on medium. It’ll cook 5-7 minutes until it browns and smells nutty (not burned!). When it gets to this point, throw in a handful of fresh sage leaves in there. They’ll get crispy right away. Turn off the heat. When the water is boiling, carefully drop the ravioli in one at a time. Keep an eye on this – they cook fast. As soon as they start floating, pull them out with a skimmer and put them in the pan that has the butter and sage in it. I had to do my ravioli in four batches. Then toss the ravioli in the butter and you’re ready to go!

20130216-222453.jpg

I served them with a salad and Parmesan cheese to sprinkle on top. They were gooo-oood. JW loved them too. I will definitely make them again.

Here’s a few tips though:

• this is way too much filling, so either make extra dough and freeze some of them or make less filling
• if you use too much egg, they won’t seal at all
• you’ll notice in the picture above that I overlapped them on the tray – don’t do that – they stick together
• pay no attention to the iPhone pics above – they do not do it justice

What do you think? Is this a recipe you think you’ll try?

Well. I would if I were you.

