So, JW and I have been together for over four years now. We talk about getting married. It’s a matter of time – we both know that. I just have no idea when he’s going to ask me. I might be a teensy bit guilty of putting a little bit of pressure on him. But hey, it’s only because he insists that we have to be married before we have kids (this is not really a hang up of mine) and I ain’t getting no younger over here!

Side note: I feel the need to let you know, dear reader, that I do not speak that way. I am, in reality, a bit (super-duper) judgy when it comes to grammar. This was entirely tongue-in-cheek.

So, you’ll imagine what popped into my head when, the day before Valentine’s Day, after asking me what I was getting him (the answer was nothing – I’m pretty terrible about getting gifts for any holiday that isn’t Christmas), told me that I was going to love my gift and that it was, “life-changing!” He wasn’t wrong.

I said something to the effect of: Why do you say things that make me think you might propose when I know you probably aren’t going to? He said something about me making things up inside my brain to worry about.

Here’s the thing. It’s not completely out of the question that he would. He’s told me that he has put some money aside (I can’t imagine it’s a whole lot but that’s neither here nor there) and by the way he has talked pretty recently, he plans on doing it within the next year or so.

I knew it wasn’t going to happen. And honestly, getting engaged on Valentine’s Day seems a bit too cliché to me. So when I came home from work that day, I walked in the house and JW made me close my eyes so he could show me my surprise (and he ran me into a wall on the way there – he’s so funny). And he led me into our bedroom and told me to open my eyes. Our bedroom was empty. We were getting a new bed!!

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m completely thrilled about this. We desperately needed a new bed. The old one was a hand-me-down that was too small and I’m also convinced it was karmically cursed. It needed to go. And he took me shopping and we got a new, bigger mattress. And I L. O. V. E. it.

I guess the whole point of all of this is that he knows how my brain works and he still decided to phrase it the way he did. And I know how his brain works, so I knew logically that he wasn’t going to propose that day. But that didn’t stop me from hoping just a little bit that he still would. It’s only a matter of time though, right? And guess what? That mattress really is life-changing!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go lay down in my awesome new bed with my awesome boyfriend. I’ve got six miles to run in the morning. But get ready for tomorrow, kids. It’s gonna be my first cooking post. And it’s going to be DELICIOUS! I can tell you’re excited too.

